JEWISH BASEBALL NEWS — Milwaukee Brewers LF Ryan Braun has won his 3rd straight Silver Slugger award.

Issued by Major League Baseball, the award recognizes the best hitter at each position in the National and American leagues. Braun hit .304 in 2010 with 25 HRs, 103 RBIs, 101 runs, a career-high 45 doubles, 14 stolen bases, a .365 on-base percentage, and .501 slugging percentage.

Here are the 2010 N.L. winners, and the total number of Silver Slugger awards each has won:

C Brian McCann, Braves 4
1B Albert Pujols, Cardinals 6
2B Dan Uggla, Marlins 1
3B Ryan Zimmerman, Nationals 2
SS Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies 1
OF Ryan Braun, Brewers 3
OF Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies 1
OF Matt Holliday, Cardinals 4
P Yovani Gallardo, Brewers 1

As these articles explain (one, two), Braun, 26, owes his 2010 Silver Slugger award to a late-season surge at the plate. The 4th-year player hit .364 over his last 55 games, including an MLB-high .424 in August.

Only 5 the 18 players named Silver Sluggers in 2010 were repeat winners from 2009.